top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMatt

The House That Fell From the Sky by Patrick Delaney

The House That Fell From the Sky by Patrick Delaney

2 out of 5 stars.

Suddenly a giant house appears in the middle of a city with no explanation. No one knows what it is or how it got there. The doors don't open and the windows can't be broken. Initially, the house's appearance causes panic, confusion, and the natural desire to investigate. The story follows a group of people that will eventually enter the house. We spend the first half of the book getting to know these people, who they are and how they tick. A year after the house appears, there is a lottery to determine a group of people that can enter the house. If they stay, they win $1,000,000.


I struggled a lot with this book. I didn't want to because the premise is right in my comfort zone. I love haunted house stories and I was ready to learn more about this house and what was inside. Unfortunately, the house doesn't play a huge role in this book. It takes roughly half the book to enter the house or learn anything of substance about it. Even when the characters were doing research about the house, we weren't given any information. We were given a huge amount of information though about things that didn't affect the story. I'm talking multiple pages of description on what characters are wearing and when they do enter the house multiple pages describing each new room they encounter. These breaks for extensive description basically killed any tension for me throughout the entire story. My other main complaint is the dialogue. The characters all speak like they are teenagers despite being almost 30. But when it comes down to it, I felt like if I had picked this book up, skipped to page 200 and started there, I would have had a better experience.

I do think there's a good story in this book. I thought the house was sufficiently creepy and the premise is outstanding, but the execution fell flat for me. I think that with significant editing and shortening, this definitely would have been a better experience for me. I wanted more about the house and less about the characters. All that being said, many many people seem to love this book quite a bit. Just because this book was not for me, doesn't mean it won't be for you. Read the reviews and make your own decision.


I read this as part of a Night Worms Book Party. Thank you to Night Worms, Oblivion Publishing, and the author for the free copy to review.

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page